Skip to main content

PDAC 2023 awards recognise five industry leaders

Published by , Editor
Global Mining Review,

The Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) has selected five top international and domestic performers to receive awards for their distinctions, contributions, and successes in mineral exploration and development.

Now in its 45th year, the annual PDAC Awards showcase individuals, teams, and companies who are exceptional leaders of the industry.

Congratulations to the following PDAC 2023 Award Recipients for their outstanding accomplishments:

Chris Taylor and the Great Bear Resources Exploration Team (Bill Dennis Award)

For the discovery of the Dixie gold deposit when others believed all the multi-million ounce deposits in Ontario's Red Lake camp had been found.

Glenn Nolan (Skookum Jim Award)

For his leadership in fostering economic opportunities for First Nations on their traditional lands, and for his long history of volunteerism.

The Lundin Foundation (Sustainability Award)

For creating an organisation funded by mining revenue with the sole purpose of providing lasting benefits for communities surrounding Lundin Group of Companies’ operations.

Chalice Mining's Kevin Frost & Morgan Frejabise (Thayer Lindsley Award)

For the Julimar Nickel-Copper-PGE discovery under cover near Perth, Australia, in 2020.

Alamos Gold’s John A. McCluskey (Viola R. MacMillan Award)

For showing leadership and a willingness to take risks in the acquisition and development of the Island Gold Mine in Northern Ontario.


Alex Christopher, PDAC President, comments:

“PDAC Awards can be considered the Golden Globes of mineral exploration and development, and I am proud to announce the five deserving recipients that were selected for 2023.

“We know that our industry is vital for the social and economic strength of Canada, and by honouring excellence through PDAC Awards, we can showcase the responsible ways that mineral exploration and mining makes modern life possible today, tomorrow, and into the low carbon future we are headed.”

Recipients will be celebrated at a prestigious Awards Gala in Toronto on Tuesday 7 March, during the PDAC 2023 Convention. Tickets can be purchased in December, once PDAC Convention registration is open.

PDAC’s Board of Directors select award recipients based on recommendations of the association’s Awards Committee. More information about PDAC 2023 Award Recipients is available on the association’s website.

Visit the website here for information about PDAC Awards and 2024 nominations.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Ready to revolutionise the cement industry?

Join our sister publication, World Cement, in Lisbon, 10 – 13 March 2024, for their first in-person conference and exhibition: EnviroTech.

This exclusive knowledge and networking event will bring together cement producers, industry leaders, technical experts, analysts, and other stakeholders to discuss the latest technologies, processes, and policies being deployed at the forefront of the cement industry’s efforts to reduce its environmental footprint.

Get your early bird tickets NOW »


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):