Skip to main content

CIM announces 2024 CIM Award winners

Published by , Editorial Assistant
Global Mining Review,

The Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) has announced that this year’s CIM Awards Gala features over 15 industry awards that celebrate the achievements of more than 56 individuals and organisations within the minerals and metals industry.

New this year, the Indigenous Partnership Award recognises community and industry working together to deliver an initiative, pro-gramme, or agreement that demonstrates significant, ongoing contributions to the advancement of Indigenous reconciliation in the mining sector. This award honours exceptional, sustainable collaborations with, and within, Indigenous communities.

CIM is proud of its tradition of honouring those who have made exceptional contributions in various fields related to the minerals and metals industry. Their achievements and dedication have always made – and continue to make – Canada’s mining industry a unique influencer in the global minerals, metals, and energy landscape.

The CIM Awards are presented at the Awards Gala, sponsored by Caterpillar and its Canadian dealers, on Monday, 13 May 2024 during the CIM CONNECT Convention + Expo at the Vancouver Convention Centre. Awards Gala attendees recognise the shining stars of the Canadian minerals industry while enjoying gourmet food, great company, and entertainment.

List of CIM awards and recipients (more awards and award winners will be announced on 14 May after the Gala):

50 Year Club:

Wesley Young, William J. Anderson, Jacques Bonneau, Noël Billette, Graham Clow, Robert Cuttriss, J.H. Gray, James (Jim) Gowans, Rejean Gourde, David Jones, Graham A. Karklin, Pierre Laroche, R. Douglas Learmont, Stuart Middleton, Jerry McCrank, Robert Michaud, Andrew J. Oliver, Thomas Pugsley, Jean-Charles Potvin, Bill Pearson T.J. (Terry) Skinner

CIM Distinguished Lecturers

James Finch, Caius Priscu, Reno Pressacco, Douglas Milne

CIM District Distinguished Service Award

Maggie MacKay, Robert Gibson, Stephen Graham Hardcastle

CIM Fellowship

Agus Sasmito, Alex Davidson, Berge Simonian, Robert Piccolo, Karl Christian West, Manochehr Oliazadeh

CIM Rock Mechanics

Veronique Falmagne

Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award

Northern Gateway Branch

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award

Fred Pletcher

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award (50th anniversary)

Robert Bruce Elver

A.O Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award

John Cameron Rowntree

Barlow Medal for Best Geological Paper

George Simandl, Suzanne Paradis, Laura Simandl

Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award

Jim Walker

Diversity & Inclusion Award

Samantha Espley

CIM Indigenous Partnership Award

Cowessess First Nation, Morris Interactive

CIM Distinguished Service Medal

Garth Kirkham

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award

Len Murray

Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award - Sponsored by The Bedford Group

Josephine Morgenroth, Jean-Simon Beaudry, Keira Sawatzky, Alexandra Foty

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award

Jim Gray

Mining Safety Leadership Medal

Roy Slack

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award

Karen Chovan

CIM congratulates all CIM award recipients.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Canadian mining news